What types of bullet trains are there?

There are several types of bullet trains but the best known and most common ones are:

  • Nozomi
  • Mizuho
  • Hikari
  • Sakura
  • Kodama

The main difference between them is how many stops they make. Nozomi makes the fewest stops, Hikari has more stops and Kodama stops at all stations.

JR Passes let you use the Hikari and Kodama bullet trains. Using the Nozomi and Mizuho on the Tokaido, Sanyo and Kyushu Shinkansen Bullet Trains is not available when using Japan Rail Passes.

Get your Japan Rail Pass today.

Have another question?  Visit our Japan Rail Pass FAQ page or contact us for a conversation.